Western Province Youth Squads for National Weeks Announced

Staff Writer, 19 November 2021

The Western Province Cricket Association (WPCA) has announced the youth teams that will do battle in various National Age Group Weeks that will take place at different venues around the country next month.

These tournaments include CSA U16 Girls Week from 12- 17 December in Gqeberha, CSA U16 Boys Week from 12- 17 December in Pretoria, CSA U19 Girls Week from 16 – 20 December in Paarl and the CSA Khaya Majola Cricket Week from 18 – 22 December in Potchefstroom.

WPCA Cricket Services Manager Clinton du Preez said he was excited to have the opportunity of announcing youth age group squads once again after the national weeks were negatively impacted due to the Covid-19 pandemic. “We are now on track to provide our players the opportunity to represent WP at the CSA National Age Group weeks. We also had to revert to a restructure of our trials for this year but successfully concluded the entire process”

Du Preez thanked the selection panels for attending the various nets and trials “to ensure that we could select formidable teams to represent the province. We know they have a very difficult task in selecting a squad of 13 players out of the vast numbers represented in the province and their role is valued and appreciated,” he added.

Du Prees congratulated all the players selected for their respective teams and welcomed the addition of the u16 girls national week. “This will definitely strengthen the girls pipeline to ensure that we find sustainability.”

Western Province Under 16 Girls Team

Onke Batwa (Langa Hub), Cara Bester (Durbanville High), Lisakhanya Blom (Chris Hani High), Refiloe Bomvana (Gugulethu Hub), Rifqah Esau (Bellville Technical High), Alexia Kontopirakis (Somerset West Cricket Club), Jae – Leigh Filander (Fairmont High), Carlleigh Gallant (Tygerberg RPC), Hannah Hanekom (Wynberg Girls’ High), Danielleh Hugo (Curro Durbanville), Imaan van Schalkwyk (Somerset West Cricket Club), Initha Memke (Western Cape Sport School), Ashline Titus (Victoria Hub).

Team Management: Shiree Steyn (Head Coach), Juditte Du Plessis (Assistant Coach), Lucia Rangwedi (Manager)

Western Province Under 16 Boys Team

Wendall Bantam (Bellville Technical High),Cole Crawford (Bishops), Raeeq Daniels (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Fayyaad Davids (Wynberg Boys’ High), Mbulelo Dube (Gugulethu Hub), Daniel Lategan (Wynberg Boys’ High), Benjamin Levitt (SACS), Sange Mbuto (Wynberg Boys’ High), Nande Mguye (Western Cape Sport School), Sibulele Sibunzana (Khayelitsha Hub), David Simon (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Giyan Sulcas (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Joshua Wyngaard (SACS)

Team Management: Lusindiso Mailiwana (Head Coach), Henco Bornmann (Assistant Coach), Victor Matyolo (Manager)

Western Province Under 19 Girls Team

Lilitha Bakubaku (Bellville Technical High), Jemma Botha (Wynberg Girls’ High), Anri Grobbelaar (Old Mutual Cricket Club), Jada Jacobs (Tygerberg RPC), Tabitha La Grange (Brackenfell Cricket Club), Akhona Mahlanza (Langa Hub), Kayla Reyneke (Bellville High), Cassidy Robinson (Edgemead High), Kathleen Seager (Blouberg International), Olwethu Shasha (Samora Machel Cricket Club), Caitlyn Wyngaard (Tygerberg RPC), Sinelethu Yaso (Bellville Technical High), Suzannah Whall (Somerset West Cricket Club)

Team Management: Claire Terblanche (Head Coach), Sivuyile Mfunelwa (Assistant Coach), Gabi – Lee van der Westhuizen (Manager)

Western Province Under 19 Boys Team

Fayaad Daniels (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Cameron Fraser (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Juan James, (Wynberg Boys’ High), Jacques Jooste (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Maahir Joseph (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Michael Levitt (SACS), Bongile Mfunelwa (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Abel Mokwena (Bishops), Siviwe Nkozombi (Rondebosch Boys’ High), Meeka-eel Prince (SACS), Jesse Prodehl (Wynberg Boys’ High), Liyema Waqu (SACS), Tyler Williams (Wynberg Boys’ High)

Team Management: Kholekile Matikinca (Head Coach), Brendon Kleynhans (Assistant Coach), Ashley Fernandez (Manager)