Cape athletes shine at national champs

Staff Writer, 3 May 2019

Western Cape athletes produced a sterling performance at the recent 2019 Athletics South Africa Senior Track and Field and Combined Events Championships in Gauteng, bringing home a number of medals.

Sponsored by Sizwe Medical Fund and 3SixtyLife, the event in late April saw Western Province Athletic Associations’ (WPA) Simon Magakwe become the 100m athlete with the most ever national short sprint titles in South African history. The 33 year-old successfully defended his title from 2018, adding to the titles he won consecutively from 2009 through to 2014. Despite suffering from cramps, the ‘Lion’ got off to a blistering start and came through to win in 10.05 seconds.

“I am very happy. The time could have been better, but I came here to defend my title and I did that. So I am happy. Now I am off to Japan for the World Relay Championships where I will be chasing the time, the sub 10.”

Rocco van Rooyen won the men’s javelin title with a throw of 77.82m, while Julia Du Plessis also claimed gold in the women’s high jump (1.80m) and Margo-Chene Pretorius won the women’s hammer (61.89m).

African and South African champion and record holder in the 110mH, Antonio Alkana, earned a commanding win in the men’s 110m hurdles final in 13.38.

The full list of WPA medalists is as follows: Simon Magakwe(100m)10.05WPA record-SA champ, Petunia Obisi (200m)24.30 bronze, Antonio Alkana (110mH)13.38 SA champ, Rogail Josep (400mH)56.36 bronze, Vuyiseka Nkumenga (3000mSC)10:56.02 bronze, and Rocco van Rooyen(Javelin)77.82m:SA Champ.

Finalists: Rosco Engel (100m:10.52) 7th, Petunia Obisi (100m:11.79) 4th, Darren Riddles (110mH:14.28)7th, Duran Faro (800m:1:47.87) 4th, Bruce Lynn-Damons (1500m:3.52)5th, Ashley Smith (1500m:3.57) 8th, Rowaldo Ratz (5000m:14:49) 6th, Anthony Timoteus (5000m:14:58) 7th, Kyla van Graan (5000m:17:38.03)5th, Leanda du Bruyn (3000mSC:11.13.96) 6th and Siboniso Sodlaka (09:55.26)10th.

Semifinalists: Kyle Appel (200m: 21.50) and Jayden Flagg (400m: 47.15). Heat: Iveyano Vyer (200m: 22.13) and Jonathan Dreyer (200m: 22.36).

(Article courtesy of Western Province Athletics Association)

Photo: Roger Sedres