Cape Town Five of the Best in Basetsane Team

Staff Writer, 2 December 2021

Five rising Cape Town footballers will form part of South Africa’s Under 20 women’s national team (Basetsana) which will take on Uganda in third round of their 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

The first leg of the clash takes place in Uganda on Friday (3 December 2021) while the return leg is scheduled for two weeks later.

In the 30-strong members team, Cape Town will be represented by the University of the Western Cape duo Fikile Magama and Tiffany Kortjie, Thimna Mphele of RV United, Lithemba Sam Sam of Cape Town Roses, and Shosholoza’s Chelsea Daniels.

Basetsana head coach Jabulile Baloyi, who is also the head coach of Maties FC, has had challenges in selecting her squad as this age group is currently busy with final school examinations. However, she believes that the players selected will deliver the goods. “I am glad, though, because we have the core of the squad whom I believe have what it takes to see us through”. 

Below is the full squad:


Karabo Mohale, University of Johannesburg (Gauteng)

Nthabiseng Ramaisha, University of the Witwatersrand (Gauteng)

Thando Sithole, Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)

Siphesihle Dlamini, Diepkloof Ladies (Gauteng)

Fikile Magama, University of the Western Cape (Western Cape)

Thimna Mphele, RV United (Western Cape)

Ntateko Nkhuna, Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)

Lonathemba Mhlongo, Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)

Shannon Macomo, High Performance Centre (Gauteng)

Wendy Gamede, Pretoria University (Gauteng)

Dineo Ramooka, Kempton Park Ladies (Gauteng)

Cimone Sauls, JVW (Gauteng)

Aliyaah Allie, JVW (Gauteng)

Zethembiso Vilakazi, Lindelani FC (KwaZulu Natal)

Thando Sibanda, Mito Stars (Gauteng)

Nelly Gamede, Coal City Wizards (Mpumalanga)

Mmabatho Mogale, JVW (Gauteng)

Reitumetsi Mosoue, JVW (Gauteng)

Khunjulwa Mali, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)

Sphumelele Shamase, Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)

Thubelihle Shamase, Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)

Sibahle Ndlovu, Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)

Patience Mlotshwa, Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)

Promise Selena, Kempton Park Ladies (Gauteng)

Thembelihle Masibi,  Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)

Asanda Hadebe, Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)

Nthabiseng Majiya, Richmond United (Northern Cape)

Lithemba Sam Sam, Cape Town Roses (Western Cape)

Tiffany Kortjie, University of the Western Cape (Western Cape)

Chelsea Daniels, Shosholoza FC (Western Cape)