Cape Town Trio Join Amajimbos At AFCON U-17

Staff Writer 4 March 2021

Three rising Cape Town footballers have been selected for the South African Under 17 squad that will do battle in the Total 2021 U-17 African Cup of Nations tournament scheduled for Morocco this month.  

Ubuntu FC goalkeeper Deejan Ah Shene and midfielders Luphumlo Sifumba and Unathi Radebe of Cape Town City and Cape Town Spurs, respectively, made the final 21-member team of Amajimbos, as the U17 national team is affectionately called. 


Amajimbos have been drawn into group C of the tournament together with West African opponents Cameroon, Senegal and Mali. They will play their group matches in Casablanca, Morocco’s economic capital and the country’s biggest metropolitan area (and yes, that’s the city the movie is named for).  

According to the South African Football Association (SAFA), the team is expected to leave for Morocco tonight (4 March 2021) to continue with their preparations ahead of their opening match on 15 March 2021 against Mali. They will then face current AFCON champions Cameroon on 18 March 2021 and Senegal on 21 March 2021.  

Head Coach Vela Khumalo said these were exciting times for him and his team, and that he’s confident that the team will do their country proud. 

“We are looking forward to a tough but exciting tournament. We are ready to put up a great show and advertise the South African style of play. In the past South Africa has done very well in the U-17 tournament and we intend to continue doing so,” said Khumalo in a SAFA statement.

“It is unfortunate that there will be no U-17 FIFA World Cup this year as qualification for that tournament was our ultimate goal. However, we will go to Morocco and bring back with us the much needed international experience for these players as they are the stars of tomorrow,” added Khumalo.

Below is the full Amajimbos squad.


  1. Callum THOMPSON KZN Academy (KwaZulu Natal)
  2. Deejan AH SHENE Ubuntu FC (Western Cape)
  3. Tyrique SIMONS SuperSport United (Gauteng)


  1. Akhanyile NORAWANA School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  2. Siyabonga GUMEDE School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  3. Puso DITHEJANE School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  4. Abram MASHELE Supersport United (Gauteng)


  1. Kabelo KGOSITLILE Baroka (Limpopo)
  2. Yamkela PHALANE AmaZulu (KwaZulu Natal)
  3. Luciano JONAS Unattached (formerly with Bidvest Wits)
  4. Siphesihle TATI Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  5. Mduduzi SHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  6. Ntandoyenkosi NKOSI Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  7. Luphumlo SIFUMBA Cape Town City (Western Cape)
  8. Siyabonga KHOZA Panarama FC (Gauteng)
  9. Unathi RADEBE Cape Town Spurs (Western Cape)


  1. Keaviano FRANCIS School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  2. Sanele SKOSANA AP Apprentice Academy (Gauteng)
  3. Mikhenso MBIGA TS Galaxy (Mpumalanga)
  4. Thabang MAHLANGU SuperSport United (Gauteng)
  5. Njabulo HLONGWANE Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)